Fast & Free Shipping in Qatar Free Returns Customer Support
Qatar
|
Binge Qatar

The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (A Toltec Wisdom Book) Paperback – November 7, 1997


Price QAR 43.2 In Stock

Estimate to be delivered 27 Sep - 30 Sep


Features

body { font-size: 14px; line-height: 1.6em; } .aplus { min-width: inherit; } In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. • A New York Times bestseller for over a decade. • Over 8.5 million copies sold in the U.S. • Translated into 46 languages worldwide. "This book by don Miguel Ruiz, simple yet so powerful, has made a tremendous difference in how I think and act in every encounter." — Oprah Winfrey "Don Miguel Ruiz’s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom." — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success "An inspiring book with many great lessons." — Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic "In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world." — Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior Read more Read less options.iframeId = iframeId; options.iframeWrapperId = "bookDesc_iframe_wrapper"; options.overriddenCSSId = "bookDesc_override_CSS"; options.encodedIframeContent = bookDescEncodedData; options.initialResizeCallback = resizeCallback; BookDescriptionIframe = new DynamicIframe(options); P.guardFatal("bookDescription", function() { BookDescriptionIframe.createIframe(); }) (); if ((typeof BookDescriptionIframe != 'undefined') && (BookDescriptionIframe instanceof DynamicIframe)) { P.when('jQuery').execute(function($) { $(window).resize(function() { P.guardFatal("bookDescription", function() { BookDescriptionIframe.resizeIframe(resizeCallback); }) (); }); $(window).bind('imageResize', function() { P.guardFatal("bookDescription", function() { BookDescriptionIframe.resizeIframe(resizeCallback); }) (); }); }); } });


Customers Reviews

Just read it. It’s short

5.0 out of 5.0 by Joe on February 23, 2018
The book helped me understand the following:1. I can’t blame my parents for how they raised me. That’s what they were taught by their parents and the environment around them.2. I am responsible for my own thoughts, emotions and actions. No one can force me to do anything unless I choose to .3. People’s perspectives are based on their own experiences. I don’t have to react to them since they are not mine.4. It’s possible to be authentic with yourself and others.
This book has changed my life. Really.

5.0 out of 5.0 by Nick on June 5, 2018
The wisdom in this book has completely transformed my life, more than anything thing else I've ever read or meditated on. This is not hyperbole. The Four Agreements showed up in my suggested titles, as I've purchased books on Buddhism and meditation. It was relatively inexpensive so I thought, "why not?"Once I began the chapter on the First Agreement, I found myself resting my eyes on phrases, sentences, and truths that just stood out from the page with child-like simplicity and tremendous depth. As I started to unpack what I was learning, I cried some good tears. This happened over and over, like the wounds in my soul were beginning to heal. They were healing through my active attention and I learned how to speak to myself without being judgmental. I thought I already knew how to do this through meditation and therapy, but this book uncovers something for me that I just can't explain.I don't want to give away too much of this book, because the way everything is explained is so brilliant and builds in layers. The way it is told is important. You can feel the kind and loving intent within every word. This book is very easy to read and understand; you really don't need advanced philosophy to move mountains of the mind.I feel like Don Miguel Ruiz is right next to me, gently and lovingly help me to see the real beauty in me, the real beauty in the universe and how we are all connected. It has the same force of an elder looking you in the eyes and telling you truths that come from years and years of contemplation, experience and wisdom. The best part is that I'm learning how to be me, really me. I'm learning how to love me, not things *about* me, but the real me way down inside that doesn't have to puff up or put up guards. I'm learning to be vulnerable and relate to others with far less fear and self-doubt. What a gift. What a treasure.
This is not "new age" self help book! This book is based on modern linguistic theory and philosophical precepts.

5.0 out of 5.0 by I'm Me Me on April 25, 2017
I should start off by stating my background. I am an undergrad student of philosophy and linguistics, a branch of the humanities. I also deeply love this series of books because of its obviousness and simplicity. It has personally helped me triumph over many, many challenges. This is why I decided to write a review here.There is a huge tradition of skepticism in linguistics, especially about how language is used in various cultures to create belief systems. A belief system is basically a set of instructions inside your brain based on language. These instructions help you navigate the stressful world around you so you can survive. We are psychologically wired to think our belief systems are accurate and experience deep stress if we find them to be inaccurate.The trouble is, our belief systems are ALWAYS inaccurate. Yes, I used the word "always" for a reason.Without going deeply into the study of philosophy and linguistics, I will give you an overview here:Philosophy - When you study philosophy, you study belief systems about how the world works and explore important questions like "is there a God?" or "What is consciousness." You may not be surprised to find out that philosophy majors have not come up with answers to these questions because there is always a case where we are going to be wrong or have a counter argument. Much of the study of philosophy is the collection of vocabulary words to describe beliefs. They even have a mathematical component called propositional logic, where one takes sentences and reduces them to symbols and creates "proofs" but even prop-logic is under fire from academics for its complete inability to predict anything. In other words, it isn't the answer either.Linguistics - When you study words and language, you realize that all our beliefs are based on language and this language can never "touch reality" in that language is just an arbitrary description of reality, posing as real. I believe Miguel Ruiz must have taken a linguistics course as well--as his first agreement attests to the power of language. The four agreements pulls heavily from Saussure and Derrida. Both Saussure and Derrida (and many, many others) did work on how we form ideas in our heads based on language. The gist is this: we have something called a "symbol" in our brain which is composed of two parts: the word and the visual representation of the object (look up semiotics for further detail). These symbols are in our mind and work together to form meaning, then belief. The unfortunate thing is that they are entirely made up. It isn't real. Our ideas of it aren't real.If you really want a deeper understanding on how linguistics has saturated our belief systems I recommend reading some of their academic essays or get Rivkin and Ryan's literary theory books. They are excellent and will take you further down the rabbit hole. Most of the essays are dense but worth the effort!To simplify: scientists and academics in the millions have tried and tried and tried to find "the true belief" for thousands, maybe tens of thousands of years and we have not yet arrived at any truth. Because of domestication, we think other people have it, but they don't! "Truth" is defined as that which has the most predictive power. So far, mathematics, geometry, and physics has the most predictive power. Our belief systems simply do not.So any beliefs about yourself can be true and they can also be false. We can't know. So why not pick something positive? If no one knows anything, then how can you even know anything?But you don't need to study this yourself. All you have to do is think back to your past self, let's say ten years ago. Did that person have a belief system that you now consider to be faulty? How is that possible? What about your future self? Will that person believe you have a faulty belief system? Probably! How is this possible? How can you be SO WRONG? Is it because you "haven't learned?" I highly doubt it!But we have to be right! We ARE RIGHT! At least we think we might be . . . maybe?The need to be right is so ingrained within us that we create a huge drama when someone contradicts our beliefs. We end relationships over it! We storm out! We write angry twitter updates.HOW THIS BOOK HAS PERSONALLY HELPED ME:- No one person's opinion will ever again have the power to limit what I can do, even if this person is an authority figure- No one group's opinion will ever again have the power to limit what I can do- No one has a clear idea of who or what I am, not even me!- When people talk, they are telling stories. I don't have to argue. I don't have to fight. I simply have to listen. WOW!- I cannot comprehend another person's dream. I can't mind read. I can't assume. I know nothing of their inner workings.- Even scary, aggressive people are just telling stories.- I no longer have to feel ashamed about who I am or what I've done or where I'm going. It's not my job to assign a story to my life, or a judgment.- I no longer have to pretend to be something or hustle to gain love. I just need to love who is willing to love back. It's so simple.- I take all gurus, religions, indictments and gossip with quite a high level of benevolent skepticism, which allows me to be free from the fear that goes along with these stories.- I don't take myself as seriously as I used to.Probably the most valuable of all . . .- I have a deep compassion for all people. We are all just stuck here together, trying our hardest and doing our best. I don't have to hate someone because their best wasn't up to some story I tell myself. I don't' have to insist they believe in my story. I can just smile and listen and do what I can.
Don’t waste your time reading this book

1.0 out of 5.0 by Liz on December 17, 2017
Wow, this is a really poorly written and conceived book. While some concepts in this book make common sense (don’t take things personally, don’t make assumptions), these things are repeated OVER and OVER with absurd examples, such as “if someone tells you that you look like you have cancer and you believe it, you will get cancer” (Please tell me I am rich, young and beautiful so I can believe you and manifest it!!). Writing style also leaves much to be desired. Don’t waste your time
Simple but profound wisdom

5.0 out of 5.0 by Kevin Tumlinson on April 24, 2018
I came to this book later than most, but discovered it during a time of personal awakening and spiritual growth. The perfect time. The Four Agreements outlines how to live a life filled with love and joy, and how to start with loving yourself unconditionally, then spreading that love to the rest of humanity and creation.As a believer in Christ, I see the Word and wisdom of God in these pages. As a spiritual being, I connected with each tenet and knew instinctively how profound but simple it all is.These aren’t rules. These are beliefs you can adopt to guide your spiritual growth. I recommend this uplifting read to everyone seeking wisdom and joy.